City of Hyattsville

Hyattsville Municipal Building 4310 Gallatin Street, 3rd Floor Hyattsville, MD 20781 (301) 985-5000 www.hyattsville.org



Meeting Minutes

Monday, May 1, 2023 6:30 PM

Register in advance for this webinar: https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN__IuTFERfQ8yKTZflJjvtfw

Virtual

City Council Public Hearing

Robert S. Croslin, Mayor
Joseph Solomon, Council President, Ward 5
Joanne Waszczak, Council Vice President, Ward 1
Sam Denes, Ward 1
Danny Schaible, Ward 2
Emily Strab, Ward 2
Jimmy McClellan, Ward 3
Kareem Redmond, Ward 3
Edouard Haba, Ward 4
Michelle Lee, Ward 4
Rommel Sandino, Ward 5

ADMINISTRATION

Tracey E. Douglas, City Administrator
Laura Reams, City Clerk, 301-985-5009, cityclerk@hyattsville.org

WELCOME TO THE CITY OF HYATTSVILLE CITY COUNCIL MEETING! Your participation at this public meeting is valued and appreciated.

AGENDA/PACKET: The Agenda/Packet is available for review at the Hyattsville Municipal Building and online at www.hyattsville.org prior to the scheduled meeting (generally available no later than the Friday prior to the scheduled Monday meeting). Please note, times given for agenda items are estimates only. Matters other than those indicated on the agenda may also be considered at Council discretion.

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITY ACT: In compliance with the ADA, if you need special assistance to participate in this meeting or other services in conjunction with this meeting, please contact the City Clerk's Office at (301) 985-5009. Notification 48 hours prior to the meeting will enable the City to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting.

AUDIBLE DEVICES: Please ensure all audible devices are turned off or otherwise not audible when the City Council is in session. Thank you.

PUBLIC INPUT: If you wish to address the Council during the Public Comment period, please use the "Raise Hand" feature in the virtual meeting interface. Participants may also submit statements electronically using the eComment feature at www.hyattsville.org/meetings or via email to cityclerk@hyattsville.org no later than two (2) hours prior to the start of the meeting. All participants shall remain respectful in their contributions and associated functions of the virtual meeting interface are not intended for public dialogue or discussion.

WAYS TO WATCH THE MEETING LIVE: City Council meetings are broadcast live on cable television channel 71 (Comcast) and channel 12 (Verizon). You may also view meetings live online at hyattsville-md.granicus.com/MediaPlayer.php?camera_id=2

REPLAY SCHEDULE: The meetings will be re-broadcast on cable television, channel 71 (Comcast) and channel 12 (Verizon) daily at 7:00 a.m., 1 p.m., and 8 p.m. Meetings are also able for replay online at www.hyattsville.org/meetings.

CITY INFORMATION: Sign up to receive text and email notifications about Hyattsville events, government, police and programs at www.hyattsville.org/list.aspx

INCLEMENT WEATHER: In the event of inclement weather, please call 301-985-5000 to confirm the status of the Council meeting.

Meeting Notice:

The Hyattsville City Council will hold a Public Hearing on Monday, May 1, 2023 remotely via video conference. The Council meeting will be conducted entirely remotely; there will be no in-person meeting attendance.

The meeting will be broadcast live on cable television channel 71 (Comcast), channel 12 (Verizon), and available via live stream at www.hyattsville.org/meetings.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION:

If you wish to address the Council during the Public Comment period, please use the "Raise Hand" feature in the virtual meeting interface. Participants may also submit statements electronically using the eComment feature at www.hyattsville.org/meetings or via email to cityclerk@hyattsville.org no later than two (2) hours prior to the start of the meeting. All participants shall remain respectful in their contributions and associated functions of the virtual meeting interface are not intended for public dialogue or discussion.

Members of the public who wish to comment during the virtual Council meeting must register in advance using the link below.

https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN__IuTFERfQ8yKTZflJjvtfw

1. Call to Order and Council Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 6:36 p.m.

Also present:

City Administrator: Tracey Douglas

City Treasurer: Ron Brooks City Clerk: Laura Reams

Deputy City Clerk: Nate Groenendyk

Present: Mayor Robert Croslin

Council Vice-President Danny Schaible

Councilmember Sam Denes

Councilmember Joanne Waszczak
Councilmember Emily Strab
Councilmember Jimmy McClellan
Councilmember Rommel Sandino
Councilmember Daniel Peabody
Councilmember Edouard Haba
Council President Joseph Solomon
Councilmember Ben Simasek

2. Public Comment Complete Limit 2 minutes per speaker

Mr. Marshall stated that he is not in favor of the proposed tax rate and that it should be lowered.

3. Action Items

Fiscal Year 2024 Real Property Tax Rate

HCC-365-FY23

I move the Mayor and Council set the City of Hyattsville's Real Property Tax Rate for Fiscal Year 2024 (FY24) at \$0.63 per \$100 of assessed value.

Sponsors: City Administrator

Attachments: 2023 Constant Yield Tax Rate Certification - City of Hyattsville

PGpost_4-13_4-19 2023 A5 (1)

City Treasurer Ron Brooks provided an update on the proposed tax rate.

Councilmember Haba stated he understands and shares Mr. Marshall's concern. He referenced that he has supported a lower tax rate in the past, but he supports the currently proposed rate.

Councilmember Waszczak requested an update on the initiatives the Council requested from City Treasurer Brooks on additional tax credits for residents. City Treasurer Brooks replied the City hired an outside firm in January to seek additional recommendations and initiatives the City could review. He expects preliminary ideas for review within the next 30 days. Councilmember Waszczak asked if the contractor would be able to let the City know how many homes are living on a fixed income and what homes will be able to get additional tax credits. City Treasurer Brooks stated he hopes this type of information will be available in the draft report.

A motion was made by Council Vice-President Schaible, seconded by Councilmember McClellan, that this agenda item be Approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Croslin, Schaible, Denes, Waszczak, Strab, McClellan, Sandino, Peabody, Haba,

Solomon, and Simasek

4. Motion to Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 6:52 p.m.

A motion was made by Councilmember Simasek, seconded by Councilmember Strab, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Croslin, Schaible, Denes, Waszczak, Strab, McClellan, Sandino, Peabody, Haba,

Solomon, and Simasek